Silicon Valley Area Chapter


New Routes and Paradigms in Device Engineering for Nanoelectronics and Nanosystems 🗓

-- increased complexity, power reduction, variability, 3D integration, energy efficiency, application areas ...

Speaker: Simon Deleonibus, CEA Research Director (retired), CEA-LETI (and IEEE Fellow)
<Download PDFSlides: November 18, 2021     On-demand video: View Webinar (54:07)
Meeting Date: Thursday, November 18, 2021
Summary: Major power-consumption reduction will drive future design of technologies and architectures, which will require less greedy devices and interconnect systems. The electronics market will be able to address an exponential growth thanks to the availability and feasibility of autonomous and mobile systems necessary to societal needs. The increasing complexity of high-volume fabricated systems will be possible if we aim at zero intrinsic variability, and generalize 3-dimensional integration of hybrid, heterogeneous technologies at the device, functional and system levels. Making an impact on the world’s energy-saving balance will be possible and realistic through maximizing the energy efficiency of co-integrated Low Power and High Performance Logic, Memory devices and Nanosystems to serve data computing and storage, functional diversification and communication. The future of Nanoelectronics will address the major concerns of being Energy and Variability Efficient (E.V.E.).

Bio: Simon Deleonibus retired from CEA-LETI (2016) as Chief Scientist of Research on Micro-Nanoelectronics Devices Technologies and Architectures. Before joining CEA-LETI in 1986, he was with Thomson Semiconductors(1981-1986), where he developed and transferred to production advanced microelectronics devices and products. He gained his PhD in Applied Physics from Paris University(1982). He is Visiting Professor at Tokyo Institute of Technology since 2014, National Chiao Tung University since 2015 and at the Chinese Academy of Science since 2016. He was distinguished CEA Research Director(2002), IEEE Distinguished Lecturer(2004), Fellow of the IEEE (2006), and Fellow of the Electrochemical Society (2015).
He was awarded the titles of Chevalier de l’Ordre National du Mérite (2004) and Chevalier de l’Ordre des Palmes Académiques(2011), the 2005 Grand Prix de l’Académie des Technologies. He was member of the ITRS since 1998, the European Research Council Panel since 2007, the Nanosciences Foundation Board of Trustees since 2007.
He was Associate Editor of IEEE Trans. on Elect. Dev. (2008-2014) and Member of the IEEE Electron Devices Society Board of Governors (01/2009-12/2014) and reelected(2016-2018); Chair of IEEE EDS Region 8 SRC (2015-2016); Secretary of IEEE Electron Devices Society (2016-2017).

Scheduled meetings webcast
(on the Internet) Map